Quality Awards :: The Quality Portal click here for the homepage
Site Index | Pl email us other awards in the quality arena that you are aware of

Akao Prize | ASTD Awards | ASTM Awards | Baldridge Awards | Deming Prize | European Quality Award | Award for Software Process Achievement | Shingo Prize

  • Akao Prize
    The Akao Prize is now awarded to individuals around the world who have demonstrated Excellence in their practice and dissemination of Quality Function Deployment (QFD) for many years. Taken into consideration are research, authorship, teaching, practical applications, and personal commitment and service to the QFD community world wide.
  • American Society for Quality's Awards & Medals
    The awards recognize individuals for superior achievements in the development, promotion, and communication of quality information and technology. Anyone, regardless of membership, may make nominations. These awards are presented at ASQ’s Annual Quality Congress in the spring of each year.
  • American Society for Training & Development (ASTD) Awards
    ASTD provides information, research, analysis and practical information derived from its own research, the knowledge and experience of its members, its conferences, expositions, seminars, publications and the coalitions and partnerships it has built through research and policy work.
  • American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) Awards
    The objective of the ASTM International Honors and Awards Program is to recognize the dedication and exemplary effort of ASTM Intl. members in regard to the development and promulgation of ASTM Intl. Standards and related information. Awards can be grouped into three categories: Society Awards, Society Recognized Committee Awards, and Technical Committee Awards.
  • APICS Recognition Awards
    The APICS Recognition Programs offer individuals, chapters, and organizations recognition, increased project management and team-building skills, and career support.
  • Baldridge Awards
    The Baldrige Award is given by the President of the United States to businesses - manufacturing and service, small and large - and to education and health care organizations that apply and are judged to be outstanding in seven areas: leadership, strategic planning, customer and market focus, information and analysis, human resource focus, process management, and business results.
  • Deming Prize
    The Deming Prize, especially the Deming Application Prize which is given to companies, has exerted an immeasurable influence directly or indirectly on the development of quality control and management in Japan.
  • IEEE Computer Society Award :: Award for Software Process Achievement
    The Award for Software Process Achievement may be given to any software professional or team of software professionals responsible for an improvement to their organization's software process. To be considered for this award, the improvement must be sustained, measured, and significant. Sponsored by Carnegie Mellon Software Engineering Institute & IEEE.
  • RIT/USA Today Quality Cup (suggested by Mr. J Finn)
    The RIT/USA TODAY Quality Cup Competition recognizes teams who make significant contributions to the improvement of quality in their organization. The competition is conducted as a cooperative academic-industry effort between the College of Business, Rochester Institute of Technology and USA TODAY. The Cup stresses team participation and is achievable by any organization. Currently, the website is for research/educational purposes only as the final competition for the RIT/USA TODAY Quality Cup was last held during 2001. Stories of all winners and finalists can be found on this web site. (does not appear to be active any more - could not access the site).
  • Shingo Prize
    Referred to by Business Week as the Nobel prize in manufacturing, the 'Shingo Prize for Excellence in Manufacturing' promotes world-class manufacturing and recognizes companies that achieve superior customer satisfaction and other positive business results. Utah State University, in 1988, recognized Dr. Shigeo Shingo for his lifetime work with an Honorary Doctorate in Business and established the Shingo Prize for Excellence in Manufacturing. Dr. Shingo distinguished himself as one of the world's leading experts in improving manufacturing processes. He has been described as an "engineering genius," and he assisted in the creation of many of the features of revolutionary just-in-time manufacturing methods, systems, and processes that make up the renowned Toyota Production System and related production systems.
  • Other Quality Awards
      George M. Low Award - NASA's Quality and Excellence Award:
        recognizes large and small businesses that demonstrate excellence and outstanding technical and managerial achievements in quality and performance on NASA-related contracts or subcontracts.

      QASAR Award:
        promotes quality, safety, leadership, productivity, performance, teamwork, and improvement throughout NASA. The award recognizes individual government and contractor employees at NASA Headquarters and Centers who have demonstrated exemplary performance in contributing to the quality and/or safety of products, services, processes, or management programs and activities.

      Saturn's Quality Recognition Award:
        given annually to suppliers that exceed Saturn's stringent quality criteria by having less than 25 parts-per-million nonconformance, maintaining a shipping performance of 95 percent or better, and are proactive in developing cost improvements.

      JPMorgan Chase Quality Recognition Award:
        the award is given each year following a continual review process of industry suppliers undertaken by JPMorgan Chase Bank. It is designed to identify and reward companies that have demonstrated specific levels of operating excellence.

      Citigroup Quality Recognition Award:
        a prestigious annual award developed by Citigroup Global Transaction Services and is presented to leading financial institutions around the world, which meet the award's strict correspondent banking and processing criteria.

        ASQ Sections' Quality Recognition Awards
        Chrysler Quality Award
        Honda Award
        NUMMI Excellence Award for Quality
        Nissan Master Quality Award & Nissan Zero Defect Award
        Toyota Cerificate of Achievement Award - Quality